40 HIDOE educators earn, renew NBCT certification


This year’s newly certified National Board Certified Teachers class ranks 19th-largest in the nation.

HONOLULU — The Hawai‘i State Department of Education (HIDOE) on Monday celebrated 40 teachers statewide who have earned or renewed their National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certification — a recognition for meeting the highest standards for teaching.

This year’s newly certified National Board Certified Teachers (NBCTs) class ranks 19th-largest in the nation. Hawai‘i’s growing network of NBCTs now consists of 744 members.

“Data shows that students learn more from National Board Certified Teachers. This impact is even greater for our higher-needs students,” Gov. David Ige said during a virtual ceremony Monday. “I cannot thank our teachers enough for their commitment to their students.”

According to the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS), students of Board-certified teachers gain one to two months of additional learning compared to their peers. Furthermore, they demonstrate evidence of deeper learning nearly three times more frequently than their peers.

“This group of educators showcased their leadership through tenacious efforts and relentless commitment — amid a disruptive pandemic. I applaud each and every one of you,” Superintendent Dr. Christina Kishimoto said during the 2021 Hawai‘i National Board Certified Teacher Ceremony hosted by the Hawai‘i State Teachers Association and Kamehameha Schools. 

Typically held at the Hawai‘i State Capitol Auditorium, the event was held virtually this year and the celebratory NBCT pins were mailed to each teacher’s home. Each educator was individually celebrated and invited to put on their pin as their names were announced. 

Despite the pandemic, NBPTS added 5,470 newly certified teachers and 3,957 teachers renewed their certification nationwide. There are currently 118,000 NBCTs across the nation. 

Congratulations to the following HIDOE teachers who received or renewed their certification:

Hawai‘i Island (4)
  • Adrean Floro, Ha’aheo Elementary
  • Harmony Seivert, Waimea Elementary
  • Holly Uehara, Pahoa Elementary
  • Maika Woods, Pahoa High & Intermediate
Kauai (1)
  • Jonathan Medeiros, Kauai High
Maui (13)
  • Moani Aiona, Hana High and Elementary
  • Amanada Bonnell, Maui District Office
  • Trevor Gilligan, Lahainaluna High
  • Emily Haines-Swatek, Kekaulike High
  • Crystal Kondo, Maui High
  • Miki Kubo, Maui District Office
  • Kristen Lawlor, Kahului Elementary
  • Jennifer Middleton, Makawao Elementary
  • Diane Mokuau, Molokai High
  • Sadie Mossman, Kekaulike High
  • Brittany Neizman, Kula Elementary
  • Laura Peterson, Molokai High
  • Lynn Yamada, Kekaulike High
Oahu (22)
  • Christopher Akana, Waianae High
  • Abigail Andres, Waianae Elementary
  • Alison Awai, Jefferson Elementary
  • Teagan Bruce, Leihoku Elementary
  • Dana Canida, Moanalua High
  • Pamela Chun, Liholiho Elementary
  • Shelley Deakins, Kailua Intermediate
  • Matthew Deeley, Nanakuli High & Intermediate 
  • Karin Hansen Del Rey, Kahuku High & Intermediate 
  • Lori Harris, Kipapa Elementary
  • Tiare Kaialau, Leihoku Elementary
  • Jenna Kaopuiki, Leihoku Elementary
  • Jenny Kimhan, Kailua Elementary
  • Jaime Lee, Kuhio Elementary
  • Lindsay Lindenbach, Teacher Induction Center
  • Tobi Miyashiro, Kalihi Kai Elementary
  • Deborah Moon, Nanaikapono Elementary
  • Corey Rosenlee, Campbell High
  • Joseph Ruszkowski, Jarrett Middle
  • Amy Swiderski, Kahuku High & Intermediate 
  • Jeffrey-Conrad Uyemura-Reyes, Nanakuli High & Intermediate
  • Lisa Yanase, Waialua Elementary

Contact Information

Communications Branch

Phone: 808-784-6200

Email: doeinfo@k12.hi.us

How do I...?


View all FAQ's