72 HIDOE educators recognized for National Board Certification


Seventy-one public and charter school teachers were recognized for receiving or renewing their National Board Certification – the highest and most respected qualification for teachers in K-12 schools.

New and renewing NBCTs were recognized during a virtual cerremony March 30, 2022.

The Hawai‘i State Department of Education helped celebrate 72 public and charter school teachers Wednesday evening for receiving or renewing their National Board Certification — the highest and most respected qualification for K-12 teachers — bringing the count of certified Hawai‘i educators to a total of 766 teachers. 

The National Board of Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) certifies educators across the country annually for their ability to implement and provide evidence for the benefit of  course content-based in the National Board Standards, which are developed by committees of exemplary teachers in the field. Awardees must demonstrate an understanding of the content they teach and their students’ learning styles, all the while exhibiting a continuous desire to learn.

“This certification is a challenging process that will not only help teachers tap into a strong and collaborative network of professionals, but also provide teacher leadership opportunities amongst their peers, and most of all, advance student readiness for the challenges of the 21st century,” Gov. David Ige said in remarks during the 2022 Hawai‘i National Board Certified Teachers ceremony.

Studies have shown that students taught by board-certified teachers are more likely to succeed in school. NBPTS reports that classes taught by teachers who have been certified by the national board generally score higher on their assessments and gain one to two months’ worth of additional learning when compared to their peers.

“The teachers we honor today have evidently demonstrated their drive and devotion to elevating the quality of education in our public schools,” interim Superintendent Keith Hayashi said. “The public school system of Hawai‘i continues to deliver on our promise of excellence because of teachers like them.”

Within the public school system, NBPTS inducted 20 teachers this year and recognized 52 teachers for renewing their certification. Congratulations to the following teachers:

Hawai‘i Island (8)

  • Chayanne Brooks, Ka‘ū High & Pāhala Elementary
  • Lori Cabalar, Kea‘au Elementary
  • Suzanne Dadzie, Kealakehe Elementary
  • Melanie Hoag, Konawaena Middle
  • Jennifer Ilaban, Kahakai Elementary
  • Joy Paul, Hōlualoa Elementary
  • Michael Shumate, Pa‘auilo Elementary & Intermediate
  • Mari Souza, Waikoloa Elementary & Middle
Kaua‘i (1)
  • Erin Medeiros, Kanuikapono Learning Center PCS
Maui (14)
  • Shannon Alueta, Baldwin High
  • Danielle Hartwick, Makawao Elementary
  • Jamie Holtvedt, Makawao Elementary
  • Qurratulayn Joy, Pā‘ia Elementary
  • Casey Kaaukai, Kula Elementary
  • Aaron Kondo, Maui High
  • Shahinaz Nassar, Wailuku Elementary
  • Margaret Ogle-Dphrepaulezz, Kula Elementary
  • Amber Olson, Kula Elementary
  • Brandi Spalding, King Kekaulike High
  • Kacie Seitz, Kamali‘i Elementary
  • Bronwyn Tatman, Maui High
  • Kathleen Toyer, King Kamehameha III Elementary
  • Hillary Watt, Kīhei Elementary

Moloka‘i (1)
  • Jennifer Ainia, Moloka‘i Middle

O‘ahu (49)
  • Leanna Agcaoili, Fern Elementary
  • Jyoti Castillo, Standards Support Section
  • Camille Chong, Honolulu District Office
  • Patricia Contee, Salt Lake Elementary
  • Dawn Fraser, Kailua High
  • Sharon Fukayama, Haha‘ione Elementary
  • Leslie Keiko Hamasaki, Kalani High
  • Brandon Hanagami, Leilehua High
  • Jill Harai, ‘Iliahi Elementary
  • Lianne Ibara, Pālolo Elementary
  • Cheryl Iwasaki, Ho‘okele Elementary
  • Janelle Kawakami, ‘Ewa Makai Middle
  • Kelli Lim, Palisades Elementary
  • Denise Low-Liu, ‘Iliahi Elementary
  • Shelly Koyanagi, Moanalua High
  • Jamie Kubo, Red Hill Elementary
  • Samantha Jumagai, Kaimukī Middle
  • Jamie Letreta, Holomua Elementary
  • Christin Lovell, ‘Aiea Elementary
  • Keevan Matsumoto, Kaimukī High
  • Elaine Medina, Leeward District Office
  • Cheryl Motoyama, Red Hill Elementary
  • Justine Nakagawa, ‘Ewa Makai Middle
  • Shanna Nakamura, Ali‘iolani Elementary
  • Laura Obuhanych, Holomua Elementary
  • Elizabeth Okamoto, Ho‘okele Elementary
  • Logan Okita, Nimitz Elementary
  • Caylin Pomella, Kainalu Elementary
  • Suzanne Reed, ‘Āhuimanu Elementary
  • Tamie Richardson, Ka‘imiloa Elementary
  • Joy Sahagun, Kalihi Kai Elementary
  • Jennifer Sarpi, Pearl Ridge Elementary
  • Mari Sato, Enchanted Lake Elementary
  • Sheena-Marie Shimose, Leihoku Elementary
  • Jenna Skedeleski, ‘Ewa Makai Middle
  • Tracy Takahashi, Waipahu High
  • Kimberly Tangaro, Kailua Intermediate
  • Dana Tanigawa, Office of Hawaiian Education
  • Sherry Tenn, Waipahu High
  • Marie Teves, Wai‘anae Intermediate
  • Teri Ann Tokushige, He‘eia Elementary
  • Ethan Toyota, ‘Ewa MakaI Middle
  • Kei Toyozaki, Lehua Elementary
  • Brandi Underwood, Enchanted Lake Elementary
  • Malia Vaughn, Castle High
  • Shannon Wellbaum, Nimitz Elementary
  • Jun Wu, Hawaii Tech Academy PCS
  • Christina Yohon, Waimea Middle PCS

Contact Information

Communications Branch

Phone: 808-784-6200

Email: doeinfo@k12.hi.us

How do I...?


View all FAQ's