​​Hawaii clubs win top awards at National Student Safety Conference


The annual conference focuses on student-led safety solutions to provide ideas for safety program implementation at schools nationwide. This year's theme was, “Driving Toward Excellence."

​​Students from around the country gathered this summer for the annual National Student Safety Program Conference, held in Raleigh, NC.

The National Student Safety Program (NSSP) was established 58 years ago for youth to develop leadership, positive relationships, and programs to help reduce death and injury on our nation’s highways through traffic safety education. The students attended workshops, listened to guest speakers, participated in activities, and presented to more than 200 American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association (ADTSEA) members.

The Hawaii students shared their “Stop If You Love Me” statewide campaign to reduce distracted driving. The conference also gave students the opportunity to network with each other and to learn what other schools are doing to promote student safety.

For many Hawaii students this was the first time traveling to North Carolina. Students visited Cleveland High School in Johnston County, toured North Carolina State University, and explored the North Carolina History and Natural Sciences Museums.

At the awards banquet, Hawaii schools dominated in several categories:

National Student Safety Program of the Year:

  • 1st Moanalua High School Peer Education Program
  • 2nd Waipahu High School Youth for Safety
  • 3rd Aiea High School Peer Education Program (2014 1st Place)

National Student Safety Project of the Year:

  • 1st Campbell High School, Safe Sober Sabers (2014 Aiea H.S 1st Place)
  • 2nd Maui High School, Student Safety Program
Best T-Shirt Design:
  • 1st Moanalua High School, Peer Education Program
  • 3rd Campbell High School, Safe Sober Sabers
National Student of the Year:
  • Miguel Paulo Flores: Campbell High School, Safe Sober Sabers
  • Miki Nishizawa: Waipahu High School, Youth for Safety
National Student Safety Advisor of the Year:
  • Mark Shimabukuro: Aiea High School, Peer Education Program

Congratulations to all the dedicated students and advisors who are making their schools and communities a safer place. Special thanks to Driver Education Program resource teacher and ADTSEA President Jan Meeker for empowering the students of Hawaii to take action in educating others about distracted driving.

Next year's NSSP Conference will be held in Portland, Oregon, July 17-20, 2016.

Contact Information

Mark Shimabukuro


Email: Mark_Shimabukuro@hawaiidoe.org

How do I...?


View all FAQ's