Board of Education

The Hawaii State Board of Education formulates policy and exercises control over the public school and library systems. There are nine Board members, a student council representative and a military liaison. The Board typically meets the first and third Tuesdays of the month (and special meetings as required) to deal with Board business, receive public testimony, hear reports from the Superintendent and Board committees, and express concerns.

​​​​​​​Meeting agendas, minutes

The Board of Education will migrate its website content to the Department's website soon. In the meantime, the Board's meeting agendas and minutes, along with Board policies and other important information, can be found on its website:

Standing committees

  • Student Achievement: Meets 1st Tuesday of each month.
    • Chair: Patricia Halagao
    • Vice-Chair: Jim Williams
    • Members: Amy Asselbaye, Grant Chun, Margaret Cox, Don Horner, Brennan Lee, Hubert Minn
  • Finance and Infrastructure: Meets 3rd Tuesday of each month.
    • Chair: Grant Chun
    • Vice-Chair: Brian De Lima
    • Members: Amy Asselbaye, Don Horner, Lance Mizumoto
  • ​Human Resource: Meets 3rd Tuesday of each month.
    • Chair: Brian De Lima
    • Vice-Chair: Hubert Minn
    • Members: Amy Asselbaye, Margaret Cox, Patricia Halagao, Don Horner, Jim Williams
  • Audit: Meets quarterly and as needed on the 1st Tuesday meeting.
    • Chair: Lance Mizumoto
    • Vice-Chair: Don Horner
    • Members: Brian De Lima, Margaret Cox, Jim Williams

Board members

Lance Mizumoto

Lance Mizumoto, Chairman, At Large

Mizumoto has 25 years of experience with financial institutions in Hawaii. Currently he is the president and chief banking officer of Central Pacific Bank where he oversees the organization-wide strategic direction and management of all lines of business, including commercial banking, commercial real estate, retail banking, residential mortgage, and wealth management. Previously, he served in various capacities of increasing responsibility at Central Pacific Bank, First Hawaiian Bank, Bank of Hawaii, and International Savings and Loan. He serves on the Chamber of Commerce Board and is a member of the Chaminade University’s Board of Regents.

Brian De Lima

Brian J. De Lima, Vice Chairman, Hawaii County

Brian J. De Lima is an attorney in private practice. He is a former Hawaii County Council member. De Lima is a graduate of Hilo High School and in 1972 he served as the first Board of Education student member. His daughter, who has special needs, attends Hilo High School.

Amy Asselbaye

Amy Asselbaye, Member, Oahu

Asselbaye is the Director of Strategic and Community Development at the Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center and a small business owner. She served as a congressional staffer, including Chief of Staff, to Governor and Congressman Neil Abercrombie and Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard. Asselbaye served as school community council chair at Wailupe Elementary School and is currently a parent representative on the school community council for Aina Haina Elementary School where her three children attended school.

Grant Chun

Grant Y.M. Chun, Member, Maui

Chun is vice president of A&B Properties Inc. and the former managing director of the County of Maui. He is a practicing attorney and brings a strong background in administration and law to the position. Active in the community, Chun serves on the board of directors for A Keiki’s Dream, Alexander and Baldwin Foundation, Maui Chinese Cultural Society, Maui Economic Development Board, and Maui Economic Opportunity, among others. Chun earned a bachelor’s degree in political science and public relations from the University of Southern California, and a law degree from the University of California – Hastings College of the Law.

Margaret Cox

Margaret Cox, Member, Kauai

Maggie Cox, retired DOE science teacher and principal, previously was elected to the BOE for two terms. As a board member, she was part of the negotiation team dealing with the management of Hawaii State Teachers Association and Hawaii Government Employees Association. She earned a B.A. from North Texas State University.

Patricia Halagao

Patricia Halagao, Member, At Large

Dr. Patricia Halagao is an Associate Professor in Curriculum Studies at the University of Hawaii at Manoa College of Education. She also serves as the lead in developing educational initiatives for the proposed Obama Presidential Center. She was recently awarded the UH Board of Regents Medal for Excellence in Teaching in 2012. She was previously a teacher in the Oakland Public Schools system. Dr. Halagao is an Associate Professor in Curriculum Studies at the University of Hawaii at Manoa College of Education. She received her Ph.D. and M.A. from the University of Washington's College of Education. ​

Don Horner

Donald G. Horner, Member, At Large

Donald G. Horner is chairman of First Hawaiian Bank and a board member of the Bank’s parent company, BancWest Corporation. Mr. Horner serves in a variety of volunteer capacities and is a member of the University of Hawaii School of Nursing Advisory Council, Hawaii Pastors Roundtable, Foundation for the Asia Pacific Center for Security Studies, and the Hawaii Asia Pacific Association. Mr. Horner holds an undergraduate degree in business from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and an MBA from the University of Southern California. He served in the U.S. Navy from 1972 to 1976; highest rank was Lt. Commander. He is a licensed pastor and serves as a volunteer staff member of New Hope Diamond Head Church. 

Hubert Minn

Hubert Minn, Member, Oahu

Minn has a rich history of service with the City and County of Honolulu and the state’s education system. Most recently, he was the deputy director at the city’s department of enterprise services where he was responsible for administering and providing overall direction, coordination, management and control of the functions and operations of the department. He was also the deputy director of the department of customer service. Within the department of education, he was a teacher, mentor and senior advisor. Elected to the BOE from 1974-1978 and 1978-1980, he served as the chairperson and held many other positions on the board.

Jim Williams

Jim D. Williams, Member, Oahu

Jim D. Williams is a retired administrator and CEO of the Hawaii Employer-Union Benefits Trust Fund (EUTF). Currently, he is the vice chair of Voyager Public Charter School, and previously served as president and CEO of Royal State Learning Foundation; interim director and president of the Hawaii State Teachers Association; and teacher at Kauanakakai Elementary School and Molokai High School. Williams’ appointment is for a three-year term.

Brennan Lee

Brennan Lee, Student Representative

Brennan is a senior at Mililani High School where he is an accomplished student, athlete and band member. He represented his school on the Hawaii State Student Council (HSSC), is a member of the National Student Leadership Conference, and recently attended a medical summer program at UC Berkeley.


Contact Information

State of Hawaii Board of Education

Phone: 808-586-3334


Strategic Plan campaign

How do I...?


View all FAQ's